Highlights 2018

Swiss National Team

Will reigning world champion Jeannine Gmelin continue to dominate the women’s single? Can Nico Stahlberg confirm his overall world cup victory in the men’s single? What role play the young wild lightweights, who shone last year with the world champion title in U23? These and other questions will be resolved at the LUCERNE REGATTA 2018.

Thomas Keller Medal

This year again, the coveted Thomas Keller medal for an extraordinary rowing career will be awarded in Lucerne. The ceremony will take place on the occasion of the Lucerne Rowing Night at the Swiss Museum of Transport (14th July).

New Online Ticketing

With a view to next year’s European Championship, an online ticketing system (Ticketfrog) will be introduced this year. The new ticketing system replaces the existing ticketing system and offers the following advantages:
– Convenient ticket order from home
– Ticket order based on a grandstand plan
– Ticket storage on the smartphone

Lucerne Regatta

Lucerne Regatta Association has been writing rowing history for over a century. Founded in 1903, its name was its aim: to run regattas in Lucerne. In 1933, racing moved to the Rotsee. The first-ever World Championships took place here in 1962.

Lucerne was host again in 1974, when women and lightweights joined the program. The Worlds returned in 1982 and 2001; Lucerne has also staged four European Championships and hosts the annual Swiss Championships.

More details about our organisation you can find here






The best rowers of the world are our guests in Lucerne. The Lake Rotsee is known as the ‘Wimbledon of Rowing’ and offers the most fair rowing conditions worldwide. The Lucerne Regatta Association is writing history for more than 100 years and the Lucerne Regatta is the traditional venue for the final of the World Rowing Cup.

To win at the Lucerne Regatta is one of the highlights in a rowers international career. The spectators experience athletics, excitement and emotions first-hand. Every year, more then 900 athletes from 50 nations are travelling to Lucerne.


Not only rowers love the beauty of the so-called ‚lake of the gods’. Also families, walkers, recreational sportspersons and nature lovers are attracted by the area. The idyllic location and the magnificent nature are absolutely unique and very easy to reach for the citizens of Lucerne and it’s neighbouring cities. The Lake Rotsee is the perfect local recreation area, which offers everyone relaxation and distraction of the stressful everyday life.

The peace and protected location is also appreciated by many water birds and other animal and plant species. That’s why the Rotsee isn’t only the perfect Lake for the rowing sport, it is also a nature reserve. The visitors care about the abundance and variety of flora and fauna. Therefore the nature reserve is to be retained.

Thomas Keller Medal

On Saturday evening of the Lucerne Regatta weekend, the Rowing Night takes place at the Hotel Palace. The highlight of the evening is the award of the Thomas Keller Medal.

The Thomas Keller Medal is the most valuable award in rowing. Its winners are looking back on an extraordinary international rowing career with exemplary fair play.

The Medal consists of 18-carat gold and is named after the former FISA President and Swiss rower Thomas Keller (1924–1989).

Previous winners of the Thomas Keller Medal:

1990: Alf John Hansen (Norway)
1991: Thomas Greiner (Germany)
1994: Juri Pimenow (Russia)
1996: Francesco Esposito (Italy)
1996: Nikolai Pimenov (Russia)
1996: Rolf Thorsen (Norway)
1997: Giuseppe Abbagnale (Italy)
1997: Carmine Abbagnale (Italy)
1997: Jana Sorgers (Germany)
1997: Thomas Lange (Germany)
1998: Kerstin Köppen (Germany)
1998: Roland Baar (Germany)
1999: Silken Laumann (Canada)
1999: Kathleen Heddle (Canada)
2001: Steven Redgrave (UK)
2002: Marnie McBean (Canada)

2003: Peter Antonie (Australia)
2004: Nico Rienks (Netherlands)
2005: Matthew Pinsent (UK)
2006: Agostino Abbagnale (Italy)
2007: Mike McKay (Australia)
2008: Elisabeta Lipă (Romania)
2009: Kathrin Boron (Germany)
2010: James Tomkins (Australia)
2011: Jüri Jaanson (Estonia)
2012: Václav Chalupa (Czech Republic)
2013: Eskild Ebbesen (Denmark)
2014: Drew Ginn (Australia)
2015: Iztok Čop (Slovenia)
2016: Caroline Evers-Swindell / Georgina Evers-Swindell (New Zealand)
2017: Katherine Grainger (UK)